Minutes Annual Meeting

Friends of the Lower Suwannee & Cedar Keys National Wildlife Refuges Saturday, February 22, 2014

A quorum of the membership was present, and the meeting was convened at 10:00 a.m. by Jay Bushnell, President.

Andrew Gude, Refuge Manager, welcomed everyone to the meeting held at the Refuge Headquarters. President Bushnell welcomed everyone, made introductions, and asked the attendees to all take a minute and introduce themselves to the people around them.

President Bushnell then asked Kenny McCain to come forward and be recognized for having been chosen as the Employee of the Year of the National Wildlife Refuge System. Mr. McCain was recognized for his 24 years of outstanding service to the Refuge. As tokens of appreciation, Mr. McCain was given a life membership in the Friends group, a plaque, and other gifts. It was also announced that Mr. McCain would be retiring from FWS and taking a job managing the Seahorse Key light station. Mr. McCain expressed his appreciation and spoke about how much he had enjoyed his 24 years working for the Refuge system.

President Bushnell then recognized Jennifer Seavey who will be leaving her job with the Seahorse Key Marine Lab. She was thanked for her many contributions to the betterment of the Refuge during her time with the lab.

President Bushnell thanked Ann Kamzelski for her excellent photography which was used on the new Friends T-shirts.

President Bushnell then reviewed the many accomplishments of the Friends group over the previous year. The following efforts were highlighted: media communications, invasive plant eradication, nature-related lectures, Hidden Coast Paddling Festival and other community festivals, art initiatives, education initiatives, Dixie County enhancements, River Trail improvements, and Barnett Creek Loop Trail Guide.

President Bushnell then reviewed the Friends membership numbers.

Jerry Salamon presented the Treasurer's Report which was accepted without objection.

President Bushnell reported that the Financial Review Committee had met, reviewed the finances of the Friends group, and had found no irregularities.

President Bushnell announced the officers and new and returning board members nominated for the coming year by the nominating committee: President: Robert Hudson; President Elect: Greg Lang; Past President: Jay Bushnell; Treasurer: MaryElizabeth Cagle; Secretary: John

McPherson; New Board Members: Marci Wilcox, Bob McKinstry, Sherry Beauchamp, Bill Kilborn, Debbie Meeks, Maria Sgambati, Allan Pither, and Mary Elizabeth Cagle; Returning Board Members for new term: Carmelo Echevarria, John Thalacker, Richard Herman and Peg Hall. President Bushnell asked for nominations from the floor and, there being none, the nominations were closed. A motion was made to elect the slate as proposed. The motion was seconded and approved by voice vote. The installation of the new officers and board members was conducted by Donna Bushnell.

Bob Hudson recognized the following outgoing board members for their excellent contributions to the Friends group: Jerry Salamon, Russ Hall, and Mark Gluckman. A gift was given to Jay Bushnell in recognition of his service as President.

Andrew Gude introduced James Burnett, manager of the St. Marks Wildlife Refuge and the newly-appointed head of the Refuge complex that includes Lower Suwannee and Cedar Keys.

Jay Bushnell introduced Dr. Jack E. Davis who presented a talk entitled "Florida and the Gulf Coast: History, Wisdom, and Hope for the Next Generation."

The annual meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m.